The Journal of Negro Education
Publishing Continuously Since 1932
Mission & History
What's new at the Journal
Board and Staff
Editors in Chief
Call Response Project
Thompson Lecture Series
Special Issues
Subscription Information
Contact Us
Board and Staff


Charles H. Thompson


Editor-in-Chief Emeritus

Frederick D. Harper




Section Editors

Kenneth A. Anderson

Derrick R. Brooms

Mercedes E. Ebanks



Ivory A. Toldson


Section Editors

Donna Y. Ford

Darrell C. Hucks

Yolanda Sealey-Ruiz

Associate Editor/Business Manager

Lenda P. Hill


  Administrative Secretary

        Cynthia Joseph

Book/Media Review Editor

Krystal L. Williams


 Web Site & Data Manager

       Swagata Pramanik


Section Editors

Kmt Shockley

Terri N. Watson

Chezare A. Warren

Research/Marketing Assistant

Imani J. Wiltshire



Term Expiring 2017

  • Lisa Bass, Department of Leadership, Policy, Adult and Higher Education, North Carolina State University
  • Leon D. Caldwell, Knowledge Support, The Annie E. Casey Foundation
  • Lois Harrison-Jones, Professor Emerita, Howard University
  • Darrell C. Hucks, Education Department, Keene State College
  • Tamara Bertrand Jones, Department of Educational Leadership & Policy Studies, Florida State University
  • Vinetta C. Jones, School of Education, Howard University
  • Kimberly A. White-Smith, Donna Ford Attallah Educator Development Academy, Chapman University

Term Expiring 2018

  • Kenneth A. Anderson, School of Education, Howard University
  • Derrick R. Brooms, Department of Sociology, University of Louisville
  • Mercedes E. Ebanks, School of Education, Howard University
  • Donna Y. Ford, Department of Special Education, Vanderbilt University
  • Adriel A. Hilton, Extended Campus, Myrtle Beach Metropolitan at Webster University
  • Brandi Hinnant-Crawford, Human Services Department, Western Carolina University
  • Jerlando F.L. Jackson, Educational Leadership & Policy Analysis, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Bridgette Peteet, Department of Psychology, University of Cincinnati
  • Kmt G. Shockley, School of Education, Howard University
  • Terri N. Watson, Educational Leadership, School of Education, The City College of New York
  • Olga Michele Welch, School of Education, Duquesne University
  • Gary L. Williams, Institute for Intercultural Research, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
  • Vivian Yenika-Agbaw, Department of Curriculum & Instruction, The Pennsylvania State University

Term Expiring 2019

  • Michael Cunningham, Department of Psychology , Tulane University
  • Henry T. Frierson, Office of the Provost, University of Florida
  • Hugo Garcia, Department of Educational Psychology , Texas Tech University
  • Brianna P. Lemmons , School of Social Work, California State University, Los Angeles
  • Kofi Lomotey,Human Services Department, Educational Leadership, Western Carolina University
  • Yolanda Sealey-Ruiz, Teachers College, Columbia University
  • Demetrios Spyridakis, San Juan Unified School District, Sacramento, CA
  • Chezare A. Warren, College of Education, Michigan State University


(Term Expiring 2017)

Keisha McIntosh Allen (University of Maryland, Baltimore County) Cherrel Miller Dyce (Elon University)

(Term Expiring 2018)

Rhonda Erica Celey (Howard University)

(Term Expiring 2019)

Lisa Biniam Haileab (Howard University) Tamara McClain (Texas Tech University) DeShawn Preston (Southern Education Foundation Fellow) Katherine I. E. Wheatle(Indiana University, Bloomington)

Indefinite term

  • Dawn Williams, Interim Dean, School of Education, Howard University
  • Faustine C. Jones-Wilson, Editor-in-Chief Emerita
  • Rc Saravanabhavan, Editor-in-Chief Emeritus




In addition to the appointed Editorial/Advisory Board, a number of scholars assist in the publication of The Journal of Negro Education by serving as critical reviewers of manuscripts that are sent to The Journal for publication consideration. Their voluntary cooperation is essential to the production of The Journal.